Actual Goal Achievement

 

I’ve been behind updating. Because of that I can’t remember all the audio books I’ve listened to. It’s been varied with classics and non-fiction. I had one month of classic war stories Slaughterhouse 5, Farewell to Arms, and The Red Badge of Courage. I needed a change from that and ended up in different realms which included Dracula. While listening to it I realized that a lot of the portrayals of Wilhelmina Harker are inaccurate. Her role in the story is pretty significant. She is a very strong female character given the time period it was written. Yes there are things that I wasn’t crazy about like her subservience but that was also the time period so that needs to be looked at as well. I had  planned to do a cosplay of DC Bombshell Supergirl; however, that costume failed miserably and I had 2 weeks before the con I wanted it for. I quickly changed directions and created a Mina Harker costume.

I had a Simplicity Pattern for a steampunk costume that fit the concept very well. The pattern is three pieces:  bustle, skirt, and jacket.

DSCN1229

Pattern used

I’ve never made a jacket or created button holes. I picked up some rich purple satin that fit the vision I was having of Mina. I also found an amazing gold/black rose patterned fabric that I fell in love with it. I could see it as an inlay for the  jacket and skirt. I had my colors set up purple, black, gold, and touches of white.

DSCN1239

The edges that have the gold are also cuts that reveal a black mesh

 

DSCN1231

When I saw this trim I fell in love with and realized it was perfect for the outfit. I saw it as perfect for the bustle which was the top layer.

DSCN1233

The buttons are gold and have a diamond in the center. This also shows the additional trim on the skirt.

DSCN1234

The jacket wasn’t going to work the way it was designed in the pattern due to my proportions I created a modesty panel with dual buttons to compensate and not have to worry about fit/stretching

DSCN1236

The sides of the jacket have the overlay

DSCN1237

Closeup of the side seam

DSCN1238

Front of the skirt. So many ruffles….

dscn1240.jpg

Close up of the transitions on the skirt.

DSCN1241

I found this a Victorian brooch at an antique mall. I used it to hold the bustle together because I didn’t want to use the tie option. I used more of hook/look set up and the pin as an accent.

I didn’t expect anything to come from this endeavor. Then I was surprised to receive Best Fictional Inspiration!

DSCN1242

DSCN1264

Just because photo. This is Lady Grey chilling under an umbrella that is drying out. Grey is one of our foster kitties. She is shy but is coming along. Her brother Sweetie is incredibly affectionate. He’s actually snuggling beside me as I’m typing this post 😀


One response to “Actual Goal Achievement

Leave a comment

Dragonchild Lore

Home of Author Andrea L. Staum